For the third year in a row, The University of Alabama led the Southeastern Conference's Spring Academic Honor Roll with 136 accolades the league office announced Wednesday. The Crimson Tide's rowing team led the way with 40, the most of any program in the SEC this spring.

The Tide was third in the conference among baseball teams with 14 players on the honor roll led by graduate students Tyler Adams, Hunter Alexander, Keith Holcombe and Connor Short. Men's golf (seven) and softball (12) were each tied for fourth in the league in their respective sports with All-Americans Lee Hodges and Davis Riley highlighting men's golf and Academic All-American Bailey Hemphill pacing softball. CRCA All-Conference rower Nicole Lane led her squad to an SEC-best 40 honors, while All-American and CoSIDA Academic All-American Kristen Gillman led women’s golf (five).

All-American Tamara Clark was one of 35 members of the women's track and field team to earn the conference accolade, while Academic All-American Josh Short was one of 15 members of the men's track and field squad to earn the honor.

The women's tennis team tallied three honors, highlighted by CoSIDA Academic All-American Andie Daniell, while men's tennis totaled four honors led by Alexey Nesterov, who helped lead the team to the program’s fourth-ever Round of 16 appearance in the NCAA Tournament with a team-high 20 singles victories.

To earn a place on the honor roll, a student must earn a 3.0 or better grade point average for either the preceding academic year or their career and be a sophomore or better in academic standing. The spring list honors those student-athletes that participate in baseball, beach volleyball, men's and women's golf, lacrosse, rowing, softball, men's and women's tennis and men's and women's track and field. A total of 1,284 SEC student-athletes earned the honor during the spring of 2018.

So far this season, Alabama has placed 299 students on the SEC Fall, Winter and Spring honor rolls. Additional names will be added to the Tide's tally when the first-year list comes out in July.

More From ME TV FM 97.5