Alabama's senior wide receiver, DeVonta Smith joins sport's most exclusive club as the 86th winner of the Heisman Trophy. The bronze statue is the latest award that Smith won for his historic 2020 season, he also brought home the Paul Hornung Award today for college football's most versatile player and was named AP Player of the Year last week.

The Slim Reaper becomes the first wide receiver to win the award since Michigan's Desmond Howard took home the trophy in 1991. He is just the third player from the University of Alabama to win the Heisman, following Mark Ingram in 2009 and Derrick Henry in 2015.

The senior receiver was often overshadowed in his first three years at the Capstone, playing alongside receivers Jerry Jeudy, Henry Ruggs III and even Jaylen Waddle. Smith proved this season he was capable of shining on his own as he hauled in 105 receptions for 1,641 yards and 20 touchdowns. Additionally he contributed as a punt returner after Waddle's injury and returned nine punts for 219 yards and a score, he also got into the endzone one time on a rushing touchdown totaling 22 touchdowns total.

Smith will not only go down in history for his reception on "2nd & 26" but he will also leave the Capstone as the Tide's all-time leading receiver in yards with 3,750 and touchdowns with 43.

ME TV FM 97.5 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Alabama 2020 Offensive Players


More From ME TV FM 97.5