The College Football Hall of Fame released its 2025 ballot on Monday, and two former members of the Crimson Tide are up for the vote for the first time.

ME TV FM 97.5 logo
Get our free mobile app

Firstly, former Alabama running back Mark Ingram is on the ballot for the first time. Ingram won the 2009 BCS National Championship at Alabama and was the university's first Heisman Trophy winner. While at Alabama, Ingram rushed for 3,261 yards, had 670 yards receiving, and had 46 total touchdowns. During his Heisman Trophy-winning season in 2009, Ingram rushed for 1,658 yards and 17 touchdowns, while adding 334 yards and three touchdowns receiving.

Ingram went on to be a first-round pick in the 2011 NFL draft by the New Orleans Saints. He's regarded as an "Alabama Legend" among the Crimson Tide fanbase, being the driving factor behind Alabama's undefeated national championship run in 2009.

BCS National Championship - Alabama v Texas
Getty Images

The other first-time member is now former Alabama head coach Nick Saban, who retired in January after Alabama's Rose Bowl loss to the Michigan Wolverines.

Even without Saban's career before Alabama, he would be a lock for the College Football Hall of Fame and likely considered the greatest college football coach of all time.

Here is Nick Saban's legendary career by the numbers:

297-71-1 career on-field record (Five wins were vacated by the NCAA in 2007).
292 total wins recognized by the NCAA.
206-29-0 on-field record at Alabama.
201 total wins recognized by the NCAA at Alabama.
128 consecutive weeks ranked in the Associated Press Top 10.
133 total NFL draft picks.
31-3 against former assistant coaches
11-2 in SEC Championship games.
52 first-round draft picks.
19 combined bowl games and playoff wins.
11 SEC championships total (9 as Alabama's head coach).
7 National Championships total (6 as Alabama's head coach).
2 undefeated seasons (14-0 in 2009, 13-0 in 2020).

If anyone has ever been a lock for the College Football Hall of Fame, it's Nick Saban.

CFP National Championship presented by AT&T - Alabama v Georgia
Getty Images

Chris Samuels is also on the ballot. A former offensive lineman for the Crimson Tide, he was a unanimous All-American in 1999 and won the Outland Trophy, awarded to the best interior offensive lineman in the country. He was a two-time first-team All-SEC selection, helping lead Alabama to a 1999 SEC Championship. Samuels also won the SEC Jacobs Blocking Trophy and did not allow a sack for the entire 1999 season.

SEC Championship
Getty Images

Other players and coaches appearing on the ballot include recently retired Los Angeles Rams star Aaron Donald, long-time Philadelphia Eagles wide receiver DeSean Jackson, former Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o, and former Florida and Ohio State head coach Urban Meyer.

The full ballot can be found here.

Wyatt Fulton is the TIde 100.9 DME and Brand Manager, primarily covering Alabama Crimson Tide football and men's basketball. For more Crimson Tide coverage, follow Wyatt on X (Formerly known as Twitter) at @FultonW_.

Crimson Tide's NFL Draft First-Rounders During Saban's Tenure

Take a look back on the Crimson Tide's first round selections under head coach Nick Saban.

Gallery Credit: Jacob Harrison

Alabama's 2024 A-Day

Gallery Credit: Wyatt Fulton

Alabama's Final Four Loss to UConn

Gallery Credit: Wyatt Fulton

Sport Your Favorite Sports Station with Exclusive Tide 100.9 Gear

You already take us everywhere you go. Now you can show us off! Check out our Tide 100.9 collection on Threadless today.

Gallery Credit: Threadless, TSM

DeBoer Introduction as Alabama Football Head Coach

Photos from the introduction of new Alabama head coach Kalen DeBoer.

Gallery Credit: Simon Besnoy

2023 SEC Championship Alabama vs. Georgia

Alabama defeated Georgia in dramatic fashion in the 2023 SEC Championship.

Gallery Credit: Crimson Tide Photos/ UA Athletics